The catalog has a drop down menu with different options to search the catalog. Here are the different options and how they work.
Keyword: when you search this way, you are telling the catalog to look for the words you typed anywhere in a book's record--the title, author, publication place, table of contents, subject terms, etc.
Title: when you search this way, you are telling the catalog to look for the words you typed in the title section in a book's record. It is best to use this search when you have a specific title in mind.
Author: when you search this way, you are telling the catalog to look for the words you typed in the author section in a book's record. To search for books written by a specific author, type their name like this: lastname, firstname
Subject: when you search this way, you are telling the catalog to look for the words you typed in the subject term section in a book's record. Subject terms are very specific labels, like hashtags used in Twitter and Instagram. If you don't know the specific subject term, one way to find them is to open up a book record of something you think relates to your topic. When you find an interesting book, click on the title, and then click on the link that says "Catalog Record." In the record, there will be subject terms that describe the contents of that particular book. You can click on any of the subject terms to find other books that use those same subject terms.
If you are looking for books about a specific person (not written by the person), the subject term is their name. Type their name like this: lastname, firstname, and tell the catalog to search for the name as a subject in the drop down menu.
The New Sunset Western Garden Book by
As surely as gardens change with the seasons, gardening is ever changing. New plants, techniques, materials, and lifestyles are constantly broadening the choices you have and reshaping the way you garden in the West. In response to this natural evolution, the editors of Sunset-the West's most trusted source of gardening information for more than 80 years-have completely redesigned and updated The Western Garden Book in this new 2012 Ninth Edition. Following the best-selling success of the previous editions of The Western Garden Book, this edition includes a fresh new look, thousands of color photographs, fresh illustrations, and an easy-to-follow format. Written by experts for gardeners in the West, this book is an indispensable reference for beginning and expert gardeners alike. The New Western Garden Book features include: A photo gallery shows the West's most innovative gardens, from all-edibles front yards to stylish water-wise and fire-wise gardens to living walls and green roofs-all with ideas you can use. Climate Zone Maps and growing-season graphs for all regions of the West including Alaska and Hawaii. A new "Plant Finder" section helps you choose plants for their garden's problem areas or for special effects. "A to Z Plant Encyclopedia" lists some 8,000 plants that thrive in the West, including more than 500 new ones. Gorgeous color photographs illustrate all plant entries-for the first time ever in The WesternGarden Book. "Gardening From Start to Finish" is a new visual guide that leads readers through all steps of making a garden, from soil prep through planting, growing and care, with special sections on natives, veggies, grasses and more.
Hartmann's Plant Science by
Written by some of the most respected innovators in the field, this comprehensive text takes an in-depth look at the environmental, cultural and social factors that influence how plants are grown and used worldwide. The newest edition cites the most recent statistics, production methods and issues concerning the production and utilization of plants. It offers several web-based resources including a free companion website with practice questions andonline crop fact sheets that give information at a local level. Along with information on climate and environment, it also explores plants’ tremendous economic impact in both developed and developing nations. Introduces the basics of plant science including the ecosystem; climate; managing soil, water and fertility; and pest management. Examines plant structure, chemistry, growth and development; genetics and biodiversity and their relationship to crop growing and utilization systems. Covers multiple crop types and growth settings including nursery, landscape and greenhouse. Also discusses how crops are preserved, transported and marketed.For anyone interested in how plants are cultivated and utilized.
Weeds of the West by 
Plant Science by
Plant Science: Growth, Development, and Utilization of Cultivated Plants, Fifth Edition, is an outstanding resource for anyone with an interest in how plants are grown and utilized for maintaining and adding enjoyment to human life. The text starts with the fundamentals of botany, plant physiology, and environmental factors affecting plant growth, while later sections integrate those topics into strategies of producing plants for human use as food, fiber, and recreation. The concept of sustainability and sustainable methods of growing plants runs throughout the text. Whether you are familiar or unfamiliar with plant science, this book will give you a firm understanding of concepts and terminology related to the growing of plants.
This a collection of e-books that provides you access to the full digital content of the books.
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
EBSCO provides access to your librarys e-book collection.eContentis the digital version of books you can access 24 hours a days, seven days a week.
Pro Tip: To access electronic books (or EBooks) there is often a requirement to set up an account. Some databases require that the student set up the account ON-CAMPUS first, and THEN they may access those databases off-campus. Librarians can help you set up your account.
Use your student portal login firstname.lastname@campus.mccd.edu and your portal password.