LibGuides: Philosophy: Database Exploration

Scholarly & Popular Articles

Scholarly articles present results of a research study, such as an experiment, survey, focus group, film or literary analysis, etc.
Popular articles include those from newspapers and magazines, which focus on current events.

Using the search terms the class came up with, try a search is one of the databases below. Make sure to limit your results to full text!

Which database did you try?
What search did you use?
How many results did you get?
Was the search successful (i.e., were you able to find relevant results)? Why or why not?
It's okay if you have to try a new search. By the end of class, identify a source you think would be helpful for your research. Share the title of the book or article. Why does it seem helpful?

OneSearch
Search for the library's print books, eBooks, online and hardcopy journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.

Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)
Provides extensive coverage of topics related to world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.

JSTOR Essential (ITHAKA)
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico.
digital library, interdisciplinary, full-text, scholarly, peer-reviewed (for most journal and ebook content)

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)
Covers topics related to emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Provides full text access to nearly 400 journals.

PhilPapers
Although this is not a library database, it is a free database of with a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including peer-reviewed full text for nearly 3,900 journals.

Academic One File (Gale)
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.