Search for the library's print books, eBooks, online and hardcopy journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.
Check These Out from the Merced College Libraries!
What Every Science Student Should Know by Justin Bauer; Yoo Jung Kim; Andrew Zureick; Daniel Lee; Justin L. Bauer; Andrew H. Zureick; Daniel K. Lee"I am often amazed at how much more capability and enthusiasm for science there is among elementary school youngsters than among college students. . . . We must understand and circumvent this dangerous discouragement. No one can predict where the future leaders of science will come from."--Carl Sagan In 2012, the White House put out a call to increase the number of STEM graduates by one million. Since then, hundreds of thousands of science students have started down the path toward a STEM career. Yet, of these budding scientists, more than half of all college students planning to study science or medicine leave the field during their academic careers. What Every Science Student Should Know is the perfect personal mentor for any aspiring scientist. Like an experienced lab partner or frank advisor, the book points out the pitfalls while providing encouragement. Chapters cover the entire college experience, including choosing a major, mastering study skills, doing scientific research, finding a job, and, most important, how to foster and keep a love of science. This guide is a distillation of the authors' own experiences as recent science graduates, bolstered by years of research and interviews with successful scientists and other science students. The authorial team includes former editors-in-chief of the prestigious Dartmouth Undergraduate Journal of Science. All have weathered the ups and downs of undergrad life--and all are still pursuing STEM careers. Forthright and empowering, What Every Science Student Should Know is brimming with insider advice on how to excel as both a student and a scientist.
Call Number: Nonfiction 507.1173 BAU
Publication Date: 2016-05-06
College Rules! by Sherrie Nist-Olejnik; Jodi Patrick HolschuhStudents who assume they can figure out college on the fly often learn things the hard way--they look back and think, "If only I'd known this from the start!" College Rules! saves students time and trouble, revealing insider tips to achieving success from the get-go. Lesson #1- college is different from high school, and even those who were at the top of their class in high school need practical advice on how to succeed in college. This updated fourth edition features the latest information about e-learning technologies, including how to approach e-books and the virtual supports that come with traditional textbooks, how to take lecture notes on laptops and tablets, how to get the most out of online courses, how to navigate virtual study groups and professors' virtual office hours, and how to cope with online distractions. With a bonus section for alternative and adult students, College Rules! sets up every type of college student to do it right the first time.
Call Number: Nonfiction 378.198 NIS
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
Trans* in College by Kristen A. Renn (Foreword by); Z. Nicolazzo; Stephen John Quaye (Afterword by)WINNER of 2017 AERA DIVISION J OUTSTANDING PUBLICATION AWARD CHOICE 2017 Outstanding Academic Title This is both a personal book that offers an account of the author's own trans* identity and a deeply engaged study of trans* collegians that reveals the complexities of trans* identities, and how these students navigate the trans* oppression present throughout society and their institutions, create community and resilience, and establish meaning and control in a world that assumes binary genders. This book is addressed as much to trans* students themselves - offering them a frame to understand the genders that mark them as different and to address the feelings brought on by the weight of that difference - as it is to faculty, student affairs professionals, and college administrators, opening up the implications for the classroom and the wider campus. This book not only remedies the paucity of literature on trans* college students, but does so from a perspective of resiliency and agency. Rather than situating trans* students as problems requiring accommodation, this book problematizes the college environment and frames trans* students as resilient individuals capable of participating in supportive communities and kinship networks, and of developing strategies to promote their own success. Z Nicolazzo provides the reader with a nuanced and illuminating review of the literature on gender and sexuality that sheds light on the multiplicity of potential expressions and outward representations of trans* identity as a prelude to the ethnography ze conducted with nine trans* collegians that richly documents their interactions with, and responses to, environments ranging from the unwittingly offensive to explicitly antagonistic. The book concludes by giving space to the study's participants to themselves share what they want college faculty, staff, and students to know about their lived experiences. Two appendices respectively provide a glossary of vocabulary and terms to address commonly asked questions, and a description of the study design, offered as guide for others considering working alongside marginalized population in a manner that foregrounds ethics, care, and reciprocity.
Call Number: Nonfiction 378.198 NIC
Publication Date: 2016-12-22
U Chic: The College Girl's Guide to Everything by Christie GartonWant to know a secret about life in college? Everyone--from the social butterfly in freshman orientation to the top student in Bio 101--feels a little unsure about the college experience. And that's completely normal! In fact, everyone could use a little help sometimes, especially in their first year. We know, because we've been there. But don't worry: We have you covered! From the day you setfoot on campus until the day you wear a cap and gown, get advice from a source you can trust: the expert and diverse team of all--star college students and recent grads behind U Chic. Campus Living -- managing roommate relationships, and settling in that first semester Academics -- schedules, majors, academic resources, and strategies for staying on top of your studies Social Life -- tips and tricks on making friends, getting involved, and findinglove in the age of apps Health & Safety -- partying smart, coping with the winter blues, and knowing when to ask for help College Perks -- internships, study abroad, spring break, and more! Plus! A brand new chapter on being a non--traditional student--its challenges, its joys, and how you can take charge of your college experience. We've got answers to your most burning college questions and tons of practical tips to ensurethat you have the best four years of your life. We Are Supporting 1,000 Dreams: Every copy of U Chicsold helps fund scholarships for high school-- and college--aged women with big dreams. Learn more about U Chic's 1,000 Dreams mission at UChic.com.
Call Number: Nonfiction 378.1982 GAR
Publication Date: 2017-04-04
Finding Success as a Returning Veteran or Military Student by Phil McNair; Fred StielowActive duty military and veterans face special challenges in dealing with Higher Education. KEY TOPICS: Written by those who have both served and taught, this text provides invaluable information, Web pointers, and insights. It is designed to help those serving and veterans--but also professors, advisors, and administrations. Treatment provides unique considerations for both campus-based and online education. MARKET: For Student Success and ANY course with active duty military and veterans enrolled. Infuse student success into any program with our "IDentity" Series booklets. Written by national subject matter experts, the material contains strategies and activities for immediate application. If you like this IDentity Series: Finding Success as a Returning Veteran or Military Student you will love the other options available: Financial Responsibility (Clearpoint Financial), Now You're Thinking about College (Judy Chartrand et.al.), Now You're Thinking about Your Career (Judy Chartrand et.al.), Ownership (Megan Stone), and Financial Literacy (Farnoosh Torabi).
Call Number: Nonfiction 355.5 MCN
Publication Date: 2012-04-30
College Success for Students with Disabilities by Irene IngersollThe demanding workload and fast pace of college often overwhelm students. Without access to the right resources, many of the three million U.S. college students with disabilities fail or drop out--at a much higher rate than their peers. This guide helps students, parents, counselors and psychologists find the appropriate resources and accommodations to help students with disabilities successfully transition to college. The author explains Americans with Disabilities Act laws and outlines steps for requesting and implementing college staff, classroom and testing accommodations. Student testimonies are included, advising on which assistive technologies and resources have worked to achieve academic success.
Call Number: Nonfiction 378.0087 ING
Publication Date: 2016-02-23
U Thrive: How to Succeed in College (and Life) by Dan Lerner; Alan SchlechterFrom the professors who teach NYU's most popular elective class, "Science of Happiness," a fun, comprehensive guide to surviving and thriving in college and beyond. Every year, almost 4,000,000 students begin their freshman year at colleges and universities nationwide. Most of them will sleep less and stress out a whole lot more. By the end of the year, 30% of those freshmen will have dropped out. For many, the unforeseen demands of college life are so overwhelming that "the best four years of your life" can start to feel like the worst. Enter Daniel Lerner and Dr. Alan Schlechter, ready to teach students how to not only survive college, but flourish in it. Filled with fascinating science, real-life stories, and tips for building positive lifelong habits, U Thrive addresses the opportunities and challenges every undergrad will face -- from finding a passion to dealing with nightmarish roommates and surviving finals week. Engaging and hilarious, U Thrive will help students grow into the happy, successful alums they all deserve to be.
Call Number: Nonfiction 378.198 LER
Publication Date: 2017-04-18
African American Student's Guide to College Success by Ph.D., FErik Brooks; Glenn L. StarksThis encouraging guide coaches African American and first-generation college students on strategies for maximizing their experiences and success on university campuses. Marked gaps in academic achievements continue to exist between white and black students on college campuses in America. This motivational book, with contributions from academic role models from within the African American community, provides tools to help ethnically diverse students choose the best college, improve their study skills, and cope with academic anxiety. From college selection to graduation, this practical resource provides firsthand accounts of successful college experiences and the strategies used by former students to obtain their degrees. This work is divided into four parts. After an introductory section that addresses how to find the right college for aspiring students, the second part discusses the culture of an academic environment and reveals what incoming students may discover on a new campus. The third section introduces the language and lingo used in college settings. Finally, the guide concludes with conversations with successful African Americans who have achieved their undergraduate, graduate, and professional degrees. The content also features a helpful college and university directory. Offers strategies to assist African American students with succeeding in college Reveals stories of African American graduates and tips for assimilating into an academic environment Provides detailed and updated resources on schools and organizations Explains logistics, operations, and terms used on college campuses