When you research a musician, you need to know their stage name. You may also need to know their name from the time before they became famous. One of the best places to start your research is Wikipedia. Although you may not use Wikipedia in your research, it s a valuable place to start.
Don't forget to check the references at the end of the article. These are valuable resources that you may be able to use in your research.
We have a large collection of Reference Books on the main floor of the library in the Downey Center. Please feel free to browse them. They are located in REF 780-790 and upstairs in the same Dewey Decimal Range. These books range from early music to current music and most of them feature specific artists as well as music genres.
Innovators in Music by
Keeping in mind the long history of music and its powerful effect on the human social and cultural psyche, this brand-new volume in the Innovators series profiles the most innovative and important individuals in music history. Each of these extended biographies offers concise and informative top matter that includes an introductory summary of the person's significance; birth and death dates and places; and specialty fields. Biographies represent a strong, global, cross-gender focus, and each biography offers a sidebar focusing on the group(s)/achievement(s) for which the subject is best known.
Legends of the Blues by
William Stout presents 100 legends of the blues ranging from classic to contemporary, British and American, interpreting their iconic visages in dramatic portraiture that blends graphic design and humour with the stylisation of a master illustrator.
Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century by
Benny Goodman, Dizzy Gillespie, Jim Morrison, Kurt Cobain ... these are the people who helped shape the history of music. Their stories and others are told in Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century. This five volume set offers biographical and critical essays on over 600 musicians in just about every genre imaginable, from Accordion Players to Musical Theater Composers to World Music, and everything in between.
Thoughtrave: An Interdimensional Conversation with Lady Gaga by
Thoughtrave is the immediate and most detailed archive of Lady Gaga’s emotional, intellectual, philosophical, and spiritual evolution, a reclaiming of her art (and humanity) from within the center of her celebrity during one of the most difficult transitions of her career: Summer 2013–Fall 2014.
ProQuest's Alexander Street products are curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
An online database collection on African American history and culture Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists
The American Indian Experience is an invaluable digital resource that provides in-depth historical accounts and cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America.
The first-ever database dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos, the largest, fastest growing minority group in the United States.
Covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-Ks,10-Qsand their exhibits. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. Research areas in LexisNexis Academic cover top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; non-English language news sources; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; federal case law; U.S. Code; and state legal research.
Provides full text access toEducation;General Science,Humanities,Readers' Guide,Social Sciences,Wilson Business.Contains the full text from ONLY the journals in selected databases to which Wilson has full text rights:Applied Science & Technology Full Text; Art Full Text; Biological & Agricultural Index Plus; Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text; Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.
Contais a comprehensive and authoratative collection of information on popular culutre in America, both past and present.
This book is just an example of the biographies that the Merced College Library owns. All biographies are shelved in Biographies (B) followed by the first 3 letters of the musicians name.
Dave Grohl by
The Foo Fighters emerged from the morass of suicide and potent musical legacy that was Nirvana to establish themselves against all odds as one of the most popular rock bands in the world. Deflecting early critical disdain, Dave Grohl has single-handedly reinvented himself and cemented his place in the rock pantheon. This is his story, from his pre Nirvana days in hardcore band Scream to his current festival conquering status as a Grammy winning, platinum selling grunge legend reborn.