Catalog for locating books and Merced College library holdings: all genres including childrens, young adult, fiction, non-fiction, reference and more. Also links to Open Access and library research databases, portal login required.
There are many ways to search for print and eBooks in the catalog. You can put books on hold to be picked up in Merced or Los Banos. eBooks will be listed as belonging in Merced, but any student, staff, or faculty member from either campus can open eBooks and check them out.
The catalog usually lists the table of contents, where you can find the list of chapters. When you find an interesting title, click on the title, and then click on the link that says "Catalog record" to find out more information, like the table of contents, subject terms, etc. You can click on the subject terms to find other books that have these same headings; think of these terms as being like hashtags.
The catalog doesn't look in the index found at the back of most books, so make sure you pull the book off the shelf to check the back for relevant information.
Companion to American Children's Picture Books by
With advances in printing technology, the American children's picture book has evolved into a distinct and special art form. This reference thoroughly overviews the rich and fascinating world of American children's picture books. Included are more than 400 alphabetically arranged entries on authors, illustrators, works, and such specialized topics as the Caldecott Medal, linoleum cuts, pastels, and printing technology. The entries for works provide publication information, plot summaries, interesting anecdotes, and other information. The volume closes with a bibliography and numerous appendices. With advances in printing technology, the American children's picture book has evolved into a distinct and special art form. These books are treasured by children, collectors, and librarians and are also attracting growing amounts of scholarly interest. This reference thoroughly chronicles the rich and fascinating world of American children's picture books. It focuses on the shorter books for younger children as well as the more recent picture book formats geared toward older children and even young adults. Included are more than 400 alphabetically arranged entries on authors, illustrators, works, and such special topics as the Caldecott Medal, linoleum cuts, pastels, and printing technology. The entries on works include basic publication information, plot summaries, characters, awards, and interesting facts. In addition, these entries conveniently list Library of Congress subject headings related to the book. The volume closes with a bibliography and numerous appendices.
1001 Children's Books You Must Read Before You Grow Up by
This is the best and most authoritative guide to classic and contemporary children's literature today. It is the latest in the best-selling 1001 series, and its informative reviews are the key to differentiating the "must-read" books from all the rest in the realm of children's books. Whether you are a parent seeking to instill a love of reading in your child, an educator or counselor looking for inspiration, or a young reader with a voracious appetite, this guide to the best writing for children and young adults covers the spectrum of children's literature. It is organized by age group--from board books to YA novels and all the gradations in between. Each entry features evaluations by a team of international critics complete with beautifully reproduced artwork from the featured title. The beloved classics are here, but the guide also takes a global perspective and includes the increasingly diverse contributions from African American and Latino authors and illustrators--not to mention important books from around the world.
A to Zoo by
The beloved favorite of children's librarians everywhere, A to Zoo provides easy subject access that helps librarians build, enhance, and organize storytime programs and reading lists, as well as to help them develop their collections and support curricular needs. This ninth edition of what has become a gold-standard guide to children's literature indexes some 17,025 picture books for preschool-grade 2 under 1,225 subjects. Covering the full range of genres, themes, and topics, this guide makes it easy to find books to fit a variety of needs, from readers' advisory and program planning at the public library to filling teacher requests for titles to use in curricular units. With terminology that reflects everyday language, the book offers a user-friendly alternative to traditional Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC) access, making it easy to help children, parents, and teachers find books on specific topics or themes. It also helps librarians find titles to fill gaps in their collections, and the full bibliographical details and in-depth indexing enable finding titles easily and quickly. * Arranges 17,025 picture books for children preschool-grade 2 under a vast range of subjects to meet librarians', teachers', and parents' needs * Offers a user-friendly format that supports quick and easy discovery * Provides a versatile tool that has become the primary go-to reference for children's librarians