Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Regarded as the most scholarly of encyclopedias, the Encyclopedia Britannica provides access to hundreds or scholarly articles in multiple categories and subjects.
EBSCO provides access to your librarys e-book collection.eContentis the digital version of books you can access 24 hours a days, seven days a week.
This a collection of e-books that provides you access to the full digital content of the books.
Many of these reference books include a mixture of source types, including primary sources (text of historical documents, statistics, etc.), secondary sources (analysis of the historical documents, statistics, etc.), and tertiary sources (bibliographies, references, etc).
Women in Early America by
This volume fills a gap in traditional women's history books by offering fascinating details of the lives of early American women and showing how these women adapted to the challenges of daily life in the colonies. * Nearly 200 A-Z entries on women's lives, contributions, and struggles during the years of early America * Illustrations of the habits of dress, material goods, and buildings that reflect the culture of these women * Extensive annotated bibliography of recommended readings covering legal issues, ethnic groups, customs, and novels set during the era * Sidebars highlighting interesting experiences of early American women
The Routledge Historical Atlas of Women in America by
First Published in 2000. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Datapedia of the United States, 4th edition. by
Covering the history of the United States from 1790 to 2003, and including select data projections through 2050, Datapedia presents the best available data on several hundred indicators of social, economic, political, and cultural developments within the nation.
Historical Statistics of the States of the United States by
This volume is a census-focused compilation of state-level population, agriculture, and manufacturing data for the fifty states and the District of Columbia. It also includes population figures for the largest 1990 cities from 1790 to 1990. Thus it fills a gap in the historical statistics provided by the government publication, Historical Statistics of the United States (1975), which provides national statistics, and the county-level data compiled by the Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research. In addition to the statistical tables, the volume includes a glossary explaining the different definitions used by the Census Bureau.
Historical Statistics of the United States by
Includes lists, tables, and statistics on: Senators; Senatorial elections; Sessions; Party leadership and organization; Committees; Senate organization; and Senate powers.
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution by
This new 6-vol. revision of the 1987 Dartmouth Medal winner includes all of the material from the original 4-vol. set and 1992 Supplement, as well as updated original articles and completely new articles covering recent concepts and court cases since 1992. New material is alphabetically integrated throughout the set. Appendices include a case index and primary documents. Among the new articles in this edition are adoption, race, and the Constitution; birthright citizenship; Clinton v. Jones; disability discrimination; hate crimes; modern militias; Violence Against Women Act; and more.
Documents of American History by
This volume covers 1492 to 1898, and the second volume from 1899 to the 1970s; together they total 670 important documents, each with its own introduction.
The Early National Period by
This volume in the acclaimed Eyewitness History series covers the period 1783 to 1828, picking up after the conclusion of the American Revolution and continuing up to the years when America was expanding westward. It features a historical narrative that provides an overview of the period, a chronology, and hundreds of eyewitness testimonies from people who witness or lived through the political events, social changes, popular culture, and economic changes in this important period. It also deals with recent insights about the importance of race and women's history in the new nation. Eyewitness testimony from political leaders, inventors, social commentators, women, African Americans, Indians, and many others are included, and among the many military events covered are the Quasi-War with France, the Tripolitan Wars, Indian fighting, the Seminole Wars, and the War of 1812. Material on Canada is included, since the fates of Canada and the United States were closely linked in the period, and the connection in made particularly clear in the chapter on the War of 1812, which took place in both countries Simultaneously. To stimulate interest in students and provide the most comprehensive account of the period, this book also includes documents, capsule biographies of key figures, a bibliography, an index, and more than 80 black-and-white photographs.
The American Revolution by
While the American Revolution officially began in Lexington, Massachusetts, in April 1775, the seeds of rebellion had been sown for decades. This work provides first-hand accounts of the period that illustrate how historical events appeared to those who lived through them.
Manifest Destiny and the New Nation, 1803-1860 by
Defining Documents in American History: Manifest Destiny & The New Nation is centered on the following themes: - Antebellum Law & Politics - Manifest Destiny - The Spirit of Reform - African American Protest Literature - The New American Identity - Religious Expansion - Native American Land & Autonomy This collection will introduce students and educators to a diverse range of genres, including journals, letters, speeches, government legislation, and court opinions. Documents represent the diversity of ideas and contexts that define social, political and cultural subjects throughout American history. An important supplement to each historical document is a carefully designed readers guide, which follows national history standards for learning, to guide students and educators in document analysis and historical comprehension. Study questions, activities, and suggested author pairings will establish the legacy of documents and authorship for readers today. In addition, comparative analysis highlights how every d
Colonial America to 1763 by
From the first European explorations of the Americas to the coming of age of American cities in the 18th century, this volume vividly portrays the realities of daily life for those who came to the New World in search of a better life and settled a vast continent. The book provides unparalleled coverage of the economy, politics, culture, society, art, and other elements that defined colonial life. Brief sketches and extended essays on a wide range of topics are used as appropriate to place quantitative data into perspective. Topics covered include: The harsh weather extremes that tested the endurance of the earliest European settlers The impact of the Europeans' arrival on Native American populations and cultures Colonization and regional settlement patterns, including the first permanent English settlement in America founded at Jamestown in 1607 The Mayflower Compact of 1607 and the establishment of a legal basis for a civil society The arrival of African Americans in Anglo-America Witchcraft in the 17th century, including the witchcraft craze in Salem Village Prominent and representative Americans of the period, such as Pocahontas, John Smith, Edward Teach (Blackbeard), and Benjamin Franklin Education and its value to Anglo-Americans, including the founding of Harvard in 1636 Publishing and literature, including the colonies' first imprint in Cambridge, Massachusetts in early 1639, the publication of "Poor Richard's Almanac," and Boston's recognition as the cradle of colonial journalism The coming of age of American cities Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Charles Town, and Newport by the 1750s. A chronology of colonial American history through 1763 documents significant developments as well as events related to social customs, law, and the economy, such as the first American woman denied the right to vote (Martha Brent of Maryland in 1647), and the earliest antismoking legislation passed by Massachusetts Bay in 1646 (which forbade smoking in town as a fire hazard). To enhance readers' appreciation of this period, the text includes more than 100 illustrations and maps.
Civil War America, 1850 To 1875 by
H. G. Wells once said, ""The most interesting history of the [entire] 19th century was the growth of the United States."" The years from 1850 to 1875 demonstrate the truth of this assessment. During the Civil War period, familiar aspects of modern life, such as government bureaucracy, consumer goods, mass culture, data profiling, and professionalism began to develop, and a great deal of changes took place. Written in an easy-to-use format, this authoritative volume describes people's everyday lives throughout these years - from the foods they ate to the places they worshipped to the types of jobs they performed. ""Civil War America, 1850 to 1875"" covers American history during the Civil War and Reconstruction. Numerous statistical tables, charts, maps, photographs, and illustrations reveal the diverse aspects of everyday life in Civil War America - from record-keeping and the gathering of statistics to the overhaul of the nation's financial structure, from the bureaucratization of American life to the emergence of mass culture. Lively, informative essays connect and expand on the abundant data, helping factual information come to life. With comprehensive detail and a wealth of primary source material, Civil War America, 1850 to 1875 is the definitive source on this era. The features include: information on climate and natural history, economy, population and health, politics and government, cities and states, prominent people, science and technology, popular culture, and more; special topics, such as the transformation of the United States from an agrarian economy into one of the world's top industrial powers, the rise of spectator sports such as horse racing and baseball, and the development of new forms of transportation; excerpts of period documents, including a slave's firsthand account of his experience - The Homestead Act, Abraham Lincoln's Emancipation Proclamation, and a portion of General Custer's memoirs; more than 150 illustrations, including maps, photographs, copies of visual artworks, and reproductions of advertisements and documents; and a bibliography, a list of tables, and an index.