This is a guide to career information about hundreds of occupations. You can search by education required, median pay, projected growth rate, and other factors, such as apprenticeship opportunities.
California Occupational Guides
The Guide includes job duties, working conditions, job outlook, wages, benefits, education and other requirements, and training.
California Colleges Career Exploration and Interests
This government-sponsored website includes information for students in California schools. Information is provided on planning for your future. It includes financial aid planning, career information, what colleges provide training programs and degrees, and resume creation.
Interactive website created for the U.S. Department of Labor designed to help you explore different types of jobs and careers and find a match that suits you.
You can find print books and eBooks about careers by searching in One Search, the library catalog. Find some examples below.
Career Information Center by
Career Information Center has been the one-stop resource for librarians, counselors, educators, and other job information providers for more than 20 years. It provides the most current information available on careers in the United States and Canada to people of all ages and at all stages of career development. Career Information Center recognizes the importance not only of job selection, but also of job retention, coping, and applying life skills. No other career information publication deals with work attitudes so comprehensively.
Careers in Education and Training by
This ongoing series serves as a stepping stone in understanding specific careers and provides a wealth of information on the education and training needed within each profession along with a look towards the future of the field with an informative employment outlook.
Careers in Sports Medicine and Training by
This ongoing series serves as a stepping stone in understanding specific careers and provides a wealth of information on the education and training needed within each profession along with a look towards the future of the field with an informative employment outlook.
Careers in Communications and Media by
This title examines 22 branches or fields of study in communications and media such as: - Marketing - Journalism - Radio - Television - Broadcasting - Public Relations - International Relations - Labor Relations In addition, 22 corresponding occupational profiles highlight a particular career within that branch or field. All essays are written by authors with expertise in communications or media.
Careers in Environment and Conservation by
Written for students in high school or undergraduate programs, Careers in Environment & Conservation explores a variety of growing fields to help young adults gain a head start in learning about the many career opportunities available for those who want to pursue a career in environmental science or conservation.
Careers in Psychology & Behaviroal Health by
The field of psychology encompasses research, clinical practice, and education. One of psychology's most unique and important characteristics is its coupling of science and practice. Job opportunities within the broad field of psychology are many, depending on one's level of education, with a variety of options at all levels in clinical and private settings.
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance by
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance--now in its 17th edition--remains the most comprehensive career reference in print. This unparalleled resource has been expanded to six volumes and fully revised to contain the most accurate and current career information available. In Six Volumes and Thousands of Pages of Information! The six-volume Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 17th Edition is an essential resource for public, college, high school, and junior high school libraries; career centers; guidance offices; and other agencies involved with career exploration and planning. Each article has been thoroughly revised and updated, and many new articles have been added. Comprehensive career information, sidebars, and user-friendly features, including the Career Ladder, which shows common career paths for each profession, provide a clear picture of what it takes to launch a successful career. Called out by graphic icons are the top fastest-growing careers, the highest-paying jobs, and the top careers that experts predict will add the greatest number of positions. Extensive Online References and Sidebars More than 4,000 websites are listed in the career field and profession articles and refer users to professional associations, government agencies, and other organizations. More than 1,000 sidebars ranging from profiles of industry movers and shakers to glossaries of industry jargon to fast-fact industry statistics are also included. Designed to hold students' attention and relay information effectively, this edition of Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance is the ideal starting place for career research. This edition features: Comprehensive overviews of 140 industries and career fields The latest information on job duties, salaries, education requirements, and employment trends for more than 980 professions Sidebars providing additional reading on industry issues and history, useful websites, industry jargon, and much more More than 800 photographs of people at work Career articles indexed to the O*NETSOC and Canada's National Occupational Classification (NOC) systems Career Guidance section in Volume 1, providing information on interviewing, job hunting, networking, writing r#65533;sum#65533;s, and more A comprehensive job title index in each volume, plus additional indexes in Volume 1 Extensive online references Appendixes of information and resources for finding apprenticeships and internships and for people with disabilities.