LibGuides: Black History Month: Databases

Library Databases

The following Merced College library databases are good starting places to search for articles related to Black history, Black Americans, and Black American literature.

African American Experience (ABC-CLIO)
An online database collection on African American history and culture Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists
America History and Life (EBSCO)
Literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Ethnic News Watch (ProQuest)
Ethnic News Watch was created in 1991 as a resource to comprehensively cover minority issues in periodical literature and includes global news reports, newswires and news sites.
Follow this link to learn how to use Ethnic News Watch: http://proquest.libguides.com/enw
JSTOR Essential (ITHAKA)
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico.
digital library, interdisciplinary, full-text, scholarly, peer-reviewed (for most journal and ebook content)
Literature Resource Center (GALE)
Coverage includes all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world; full-text scholarly articles from more than 360 academic journals and literary magazines the majority peer-reviewed scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries, reviews children's literature to adult fiction