Essentials of Sonography and Patient Care by
Providing a solid foundation in sonography, Essentials of Sonography and Patient Care, 3rd Edition prepares you to succeed in the classroom and in practice. It describes the origins and evolution of diagnostic medical sonography, and includes proven study techniques such as note taking, effective listening, and test-taking strategies. Addressing the clinical environment, this book covers topics such as taking a patient's vital signs, safety considerations, body mechanics, patient transfer, infection control, emergency procedures, and assisting patients with special needs. Career discussions include the sonographer's role in various clinical settings, ethics and professionalism, and job search and interview techniques. Written by expert sonographer Marveen Craig, Essentials of Sonography and Patient Care points you toward a sound future in sonography. Scanning protocols for the four major clinical specialty exams detail what constitutes a complete sonographic examination. Thorough, step-by-step presentation of patient care in a sonography setting teaches you how to perform basic medical techniques and interact with patients. Sonographer Safety Issues chapter explains how to scan with proper scanning technique and posture to avoid repetitive-motion musculoskeletal injuries. Note boxes add information on applying concepts to the clinical setting. HIPAA information provides the knowledge you need to comply with federal law. Objectives and key terms introduce each chapter's important content. Chapter summaries simplify study and review by recapping the most important points. Glossary of Spanish phrases covers common instructions for better communication with Spanish-speaking patients. Updated scanning protocols for the four major clinical specialty exams ensure that you are well-prepared for clinical practice. Updated instrumentation information and photos introduce the equipment you will be using during training and in clinical practice. End-of-chapter critical thinking questions help in applying chapter content to reality-based scenarios. Professional Organizations and Agencies appendix furthers your career with a listing of influential organizations and agencies.
Sonography Exam Review: Physics, Abdomen, Obstetrics and Gynecology by
"The book provides a simple platform for a blended learning approach to revision of the fundamentals of ultrasound, basic examination of the abdomen, obstetrics and gynaecology and includes QR codes and potential access to additional learning resources via an access code." Reviewed by Sue Halson-Brown on behalf of RAD Magazine, February 2015 Complete preparation for the three general ARDMS exams (physics, abdomen, and ob/gyn) Content review in outline and tabular format provides a quick review of all the material you need to learn, including key terms, anatomy, functions, scanning techniques, lab values, and pathology. More than 2,500 questions in Registry format cover everything you'll be tested on in the Registry exams. Rationales for answers to mock questions help you understand why an answer is correct or incorrect and increase your comprehension. More than 350 ultrasound scans included in the abdominal and ob/gyn sections prepare you for exam questions that ask you to identify pathology on scans. Color insert with Doppler images of the liver, biliary, and umbilical cord helps you be ready to answer questions related to Doppler imaging. Companion CD provides extra timed, graded mock exams and two entertaining, interactive games: Sonography Millionaire and Tournament of Sonography.
Sonography in Obstetrics and Gynecology by
The most authoritative guide to sonography in obstetrics and gynecology--now in full color Companion website includes images, case studies, and more Written by radiologists and ob/gyns to provide a balanced perspective, this standard-setting guide is both a clinically relevant reference text and atlas--presented in full color for the first time. It expertly examines the full spectrum of disorders and conditions you're likely to encounter in gynecologic and maternal-fetal care, supported throughout by more than 2,000 detailed sonographic illustrations. You'll also find the latest procedures and diagnostic guidelines for the use of sonography in ob/gyn, including 3D and 4D image processing, transvaginal sonography, and color Dopler sonography. The book opens with general obstetric sonography, covering such pivotal topics as normal pelvic anatomy and fetal echocardiography, before moving into fetal anomalies and disorders. Risk assessment and therapy, including first trimester screening and amniocentesis, are explored in the next section, while the remaining parts of the book focus on maternal disorders, gynecological sonography, and the newest complementary imaging modalities. Features The most trusted, accessible compendium of sonography in obstetrics and gynecology for residents and practitioners, filled with precise illustrations that add clarity to the text's content All-inclusive coverage of everything from sonographic operating instruments and screening the fetal patient for syndromes and anomalies, to diagnosing the female patient for cysts, infertility, and incontinence NEW! Full-color format to aid readability and ease of use NEW! Up-to-date information on the significant advances made in three dimensional and even four-dimensional Doppler technology NEW! Learning aids: a "key points" section in each chapter; skill-building clinical scenarios; a stronger focus on differential diagnosis; multiple visuals (figure, illustration, or table) on each page; and helpful chapter-opening summaries NEW! Companion website filled with concept-clarifying images, video loops, case studies supplemented by Q&As, plus cutting-edge insights on a range of integral sonography topics NEW! SI Units incorporated throughout
Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2013 by
Written by leading experts in the field, this title is an authoritative and comprehensive annually updated text covering treatment and diagnosis of adult inpatient and outpatient medicine.
Diagnostic Ultrasound Imaging: Inside Out by
Diagnostic Ultrasound Imaging provides a unified description of the physical principles of ultrasound imaging, signal processing, systems and measurements. This comprehensive reference is a core resource for both graduate students and engineers in medical ultrasound research and design. With continuing rapid technological development of ultrasound in medical diagnosis, it is a critical subject for biomedical engineers, clinical and healthcare engineers and practitioners, medical physicists, and related professionals in the fields of signal and image processing. The book contains 17 new and updated chapters covering the fundamentals and latest advances in the area, and includes four appendices, 450 figures (60 available in color on the companion website), and almost 1,500 references. In addition to the continual influx of readers entering the field of ultrasound worldwide who need the broad grounding in the core technologies of ultrasound, this book provides those already working in these areas with clear and comprehensive expositions of these key new topics as well as introductions to state-of-the-art innovations in this field.
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference by 
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Consumer health information on many health topics including medical science, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
Over 8,500 online articles from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology 10thedition. 110,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.Biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography .The latest news in science and technology from Science News and ScienCentral videos. Continuously updated, fully-searchable, media-rich content, terms, images and videos
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.