Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA 9: Database Citation Generator Issues

Learn how to format your papers and cite sources in MLA 9th edition..

Database Citation Generators Have Errors

Database citation generators are not perfect. You can copy-paste citations but know you will need to correct errors.

When you run searches in multiple EBSCOhost-provided databases, a common issue is that the citation usually provides the name of the database brand (EBSCOhost) vs. the name of the actual database. The citation also supplies the wrong link. Also, DOIs are preferred to links, so you will need to verify whether or not an article has a DOI. If there is no DOI, you will then need to make sure to use the correct link.

Screenshot of incorrect database name from database citation generator

Common EBSCOhost Citation Issues & How to Fix Them

This issue is common when you're searching in multiple databases provided by EBSCOhost at the same time. The citation generated will usually read EBSChost, the brand, instead of the name of the actual database. However, it's easy to figure out the exact database.

Record While in the Databases

If you are running searches in more than one database provided by EBSCOhost at a time, you can find the name of the database in the record for the article.

Screenshot of the database name in the record

Email

When you email an article to yourself, the name of the database is usually included in the information you receive in the email.

Screenshot of database name in an email

 

 

DOIs are preferred to URLs. If a DOI is available, use it. If there is a DOI, you will typically find it in the record of the article. If it's not available, use the permalink instead.

Screenshot of a DOI

DOIs are preferred to URLs. If an article doesn't have a DOI, you will need to use the permalink, not the link in your address bar. Find the permalink in the record of an article by clicking on the permalink icon on the right. A box that says permalink with a link will then appear at the top of the record. Copy and paste this link.

Screenshot of a permalink