Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research 101: Searching is Strategic
Doing academic research is hard, but there are some ways to make your searching more efficient and productive (Anna Eisen, 3:14)!
Searching for Information in Databases
Start on the
library website Click on
Databases link Based on database descriptions,
decide which database(s) seem most relevant to your topic
For your class, head over to:
SIRS (I would concentrate on the first two options vs. SIRS because SIRS doesn't have as much scholarly content)
If you select EBSCOhost Web, you will need to checkbox the EBSCOhost-provided databases that seem the most relevant to your topic
Use at least 2-3 databases
2-4 terms at a time in your searches
The database will look for your terms in the summaries of articles (PDF) (or in the whole article if the HTML is also available)
What kinds of terms might a researcher use?
Consider that you may have to change your research question a bit depending on the information available
Use search strategies
use quotes around short phrases to force the database to look for the specific phrase vs. individual words
connect terms with AND & OR as appropriate
Using AND between words tells the database to search for article summaries that include BOTH terms (narrows search)
Using OR between words tells the database to search for article summaries that include either this term OR that term (broadens search)
Limits results to
full-text, so you can actually download the PDF and/or access the HTML Limit results to
scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles Limit results to a
specific date range (for example, 2016-2021)
Email articles to yourself / download to your desktop or a specific folder
Remember, no citation generator, even from a library database, is perfect. You will need to double-check and correct errors.