| Scholarly Journal Articles | Popular Magazine Article |
|
Many scholarly articles are published in journals. These articles report on the findings of a research study, such as an experiment, survey, focus group, or film, literary, or legal analysis, etc. Use scholarly articles when you need the results of a study. Scholarly journal articles are long and are written by experts for other experts. The researchers aren't paid to produce this type of article, and they are usually reviewed by peers, also for free, in similar fields. These types of articles usually have references / citations. Examples
Log into the Portal to view |
Popular articles include those from newspapers and magazines, which focus on current events and human interest stories. Use news and magazines when you need social commentary or information about current events. They will sometimes also report about a research study, but you need to refer back to the study to get more detailed information. Popular articles are short and are written for a general audience. They are written by paid journalists, staff writers, or freelance writers, and they are reviewed by paid professional editors. These types of articles rarely have references / citations. Examples
"The Birth of a New Aristocracy" Log into the Portal to view |
"Reading Research Articles" (2:54) by USU Libraries
The databases provide you with access to a variety of source types. Some databases have a combination of scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, trade articles, magazine and news articles, etc. Make sure to limit your results to the kinds of sources that might be useful for your research.
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including peer-reviewed full text for nearly 3,900 journals.
Ethnic News Watch was created in 1991 as a resource to comprehensively cover minority issues in periodical literature and includes global news reports, newswires and news sites.
Provides full text access toEducation;General Science,Humanities,Readers' Guide,Social Sciences,Wilson Business.Contains the full text from ONLY the journals in selected databases to which Wilson has full text rights:Applied Science & Technology Full Text; Art Full Text; Biological & Agricultural Index Plus; Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text; Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.
Electronic editions of record of newspapers, many in California, for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database-- providingunique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.
Covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings such as 10-Ks,10-Qsand their exhibits. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily. Research areas in LexisNexis Academic cover top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; non-English language news sources; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; federal case law; U.S. Code; and state legal research.
Each weekly report (published 44 times per year) offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of a single topic. The 12,000 word reports provide up-to-date information on a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. 10 year back file.
Pro vs. Con on leading issuesprovides magazine, newspaper and government documents organized by topic.
Includes business earning reports, statistical data, company and industry profiles, SWOT and market share reports, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.
Comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL.
Resource for authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences created by the National Library of Medicine
Covers topics related to emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Provides full text access to nearly 400 journals.
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health developed by the American Psychological Association.Contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries as well as open access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Science Full Text Selectprovides full text for more than 400 journals dating as far back as 1994. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.
