Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 13 Martin Ward: Finding Databases

Critical Reasoning and Writing

Finding All the Databases

To find all of the library's 70+ databases:

  • Log into the Portal.
  • Click the Library tab at the top.
  • Click on Find Databases, which will take you to the library's Databases A-Z list. You can search for a specific database by name or use the filters to limit the databases by subject area.

To select a database to search in from the list: 

  1. Think about your topic.
  2. Which of the subjects represented in the Subjects drop-down list does your topic most closely fall under? There may be more than one, and that's okay. Just start with one subject area.
  3. After you select a subject area, you will then find a list of databases that are good for topics related to the subject area. But each is different. Read the database descriptions to determine if the database contains the kind of information you are interested in. Does it have books? News? Journal articles?

This is like picking which streaming service you are going to use to find a movie to watch. Are you going to look in Netflix? Hulu? Amazon Prime? Your information need will help you with making decisions about where to look for information. Research is an exploration. You may have to try a variety of tools to find what you need.

Netflix logoHulu logoLogo for Prime Video

Database Provider vs. Database Name

  • EBSCOhost = database provider
    •  Academic Search Complete = database name
    • MasterFILE Complete = database name
    • MEDLINE = database name
  • Gale = database provder
    • Academic One File = database name
  • ProQuest = database provider
    • SIRS Researcher = database name

Databases Provided by EBSCOhost

Multiple Subject Database Provided by Gale

Pro / Con Database Provided by ProQuest