Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PHIL 10_HUM 02: Barnes: Suggested Databases

This research guide is intended to support the Philosophy 10 Class, or ENGL 13. Instructor Barnes

Various Formats

Use a variety of formats to get a varied perspective on your topic.

  • Use Newspapers and news (Nexis Uni, Newsbank, New York Times) to look for an event in time, people or businesses.

  • Use Reports (SIRS, Opposing Viewpoints, CQ Researcher, etc.) for statistics and data 

    • The date is very important--search for the most current.
  • Use Peer Reviewed Journals (Ebsco, Academic One File) for locating scholarly communication about a study or report.

News and Newspapers

Keyword Searching

Databases in the EbscoHOST group

Selecting the specific databases to use for your subject is the first step in a successful EBSCO search.  For this class, please choose the following (note: do NOT select all):

  • Academic Search Complete

  • Omni File Complete

  • Master File Complete

  • Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

  • Psyc Info

  • Communications and Mass Media

Once in EBSCO, choose your databases by selecting Choose Databases.

Select and Log in using your Merced College Portal Student.Name and Password

Select from the list of 30+ EBSCO databases 2 ways:

1: From the list of all databases:

  

 

2.  From within an EBSCO database:

 

Databases Pro/Con

Scholarly Sources