Before searching in-depth, use books and reference sources to brainstorm terminology, vocabulary, and background information. You will need to collet these subject terms and keywords to make the databases work for you. Use single words, or single concepts, and search broadly.
EBSCO provides access to your librarys e-book collection.eContentis the digital version of books you can access 24 hours a days, seven days a week.
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.
The Business of Food by 
Launching Your Dietetics Career by 
A Career As a Baker
The Complete Idiot's Guide to the Perfect Resume, 5th Edition by 
Reference books are good sources for overviews on a topic.
Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2020-2030 by
The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) is the premier, nationally recognized source for career information. Especially designed to provide valuable up-to-date information, the Handbook is great for all individuals making decisions about their future including students about to graduate from high school or college, recent graduates, individuals returning to the workforce after an absence, or anyone looking for a career change.
Careers in Healthcare by
This title examines 22 branches or fields of study in healthcare and allied health: - Nursing - Dental Hygiene - Nuclear Medicine - Physical Therapy - Radiation Therapy - Speech Pathology - Respiratory Therapy - Athletic Training - Healthcare Information Management In addition, 22 corresponding occupational profiles highlight a particular career within that branch or field. All essays are written by authors with expertise in healthcare or allied health fields.
Career Information Center by
Continues to serve as one-stop resource for librarians, counselors, educators, and other job information providers for more than 20 years. Provides most current information available on nearly 700 careers to people at all stages of career development, including 320 detailed profiles of new and emerging jobs that are not included in competitor titles. New: Most job profiles contain MLA-style citations of books, audio/visual materials, and organizations that serve as additional job-specific resources
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance by
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance--now in its 17th edition--remains the most comprehensive career reference in print. This unparalleled resource has been expanded to six volumes and fully revised to contain the most accurate and current career information available. In Six Volumes and Thousands of Pages of Information! The six-volume Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 17th Edition is an essential resource for public, college, high school, and junior high school libraries; career centers; guidance offices; and other agencies involved with career exploration and planning. Each article has been thoroughly revised and updated, and many new articles have been added. Comprehensive career information, sidebars, and user-friendly features, including the Career Ladder, which shows common career paths for each profession, provide a clear picture of what it takes to launch a successful career. Called out by graphic icons are the top fastest-growing careers, the highest-paying jobs, and the top careers that experts predict will add the greatest number of positions. Extensive Online References and Sidebars More than 4,000 websites are listed in the career field and profession articles and refer users to professional associations, government agencies, and other organizations. More than 1,000 sidebars ranging from profiles of industry movers and shakers to glossaries of industry jargon to fast-fact industry statistics are also included. Designed to hold students' attention and relay information effectively, this edition of Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance is the ideal starting place for career research. This edition features: Comprehensive overviews of 140 industries and career fields The latest information on job duties, salaries, education requirements, and employment trends for more than 980 professions Sidebars providing additional reading on industry issues and history, useful websites, industry jargon, and much more More than 800 photographs of people at work Career articles indexed to the O*NETSOC and Canada's National Occupational Classification (NOC) systems Career Guidance section in Volume 1, providing information on interviewing, job hunting, networking, writing r#65533;sum#65533;s, and more A comprehensive job title index in each volume, plus additional indexes in Volume 1 Extensive online references Appendixes of information and resources for finding apprenticeships and internships and for people with disabilities.
Franchise Bible by
The Insider's Guide to Buying a Franchise or Franchising Your Business In this easy-to-read guide, franchise expert Rick Grossmann and franchise attorney Michael J. Katz impart decades-worth of insight and advice on what it takes to make your franchise operation successful. .