Food, Feasts, and Faith [2 Volumes] by
An indispensable resource for exploring food and faith, this two-volume set offers information on food-related religious beliefs, customs, and practices from around the world.
Food Culture in the Mediterranean by
Food that originated from the Mediterranean area is incredibly popular. Pasta, pizza, gyros, kebab, and falafel can be found just about everywhere. Many people throughout the world have a good idea of what Mediterranean cuisine and diet are all about, but they know less about the entire food culture of the region. This one-stop source provides the broadest possible understanding of food culture throughout the region, giving a variety of examples and evidence from the southern Mediterranean or North Africa (Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, and Egypt), the Western Mediterranean or European side of the Mediterranean (Spain, France, Italy, and the French and Italian islands), to the eastern Mediterranean or Levant (Greece, Turkey, Syria, Lebanon, and Israel). The Mediterranean region region is home to three of the world's major religions, and for centuries, the Mediterranean Sea has been an invitation to trade, travel, conquest, and immigration. Where different cultures, beliefs, and traditions mix there is always volatility and tension, but there is also great energy. Understanding the food culture in the Mediterranean is one way readers can see how people of different regions come together, share ideas and information to create new dishes, meals, traditions, and forms of sociability. This volume answers questions such as Do people in the Mediterranean still eat the Mediterranean Diet or do they eat American style? Why is it that the same ingredients can be prepared in so many different ways, even in the same country? Why would cooks take the time to make foods like zucchini, lentils, or figs into dozens of different dishes? How and why do religious rituals differ regarding food preparation? What do Jews, Muslims, and Christians eat on religious holidays? Do people eat out or eat at home? Why is hospitality so important to Mediterranean people and what do they do to demonstrate hospitality and good will through the preparation and serving of meals?
Food Culture in the Pacific Islands by
The food culture of the Pacific Islands has been determined by isolation from the rest of the world. Original immigrants from Asia brought their foods, animals, and culinary skills with them, then for several thousand years, they were largely uninfluenced by outsiders. The tropical climate of much of the region, unique island geology and environmental factors also played a role in the evolution of islander cuisine, which is based on unique ingredients. The staples of breadfruit, yams, taro, coconut, sweet potato, and cassava are incorporated into a cuisine that uses cooking and preservation techniques unique to Polynesia, Micronesia, and Melanesia. Today, food culture in the Pacific is largely one of extremes. Although traditional foods and cookery survive and are highly valued, Westernization has meant that the overall diet of islanders has been negatively transformed and that islands are net importers of unhealthful foods. Ironically, the tourism industry has re-engaged islander people in food production and boosted their sense of identity. Students, food mavens, and travellers will find this to be a stellar introduction to the current culture of the Pacific Islands, with discussion of Hawaii, Australia, and New Zealand included. Chapter 1, Historical Overview, offers a fascinating chronicle of the evolution of a food culture of extremes, of isolation, climate, environment, and Western influences. Chapter 2, Major Foods and Ingredients, introduces a host of traditional tropical manna as well as imported products. The Cooking chapter discusses the truly unique cooking styles of the islands, such as steam-baking in the ground in an umu (oven). Chapter 4, Typical Meals, largely explores the emphasis on the ubiquitous processed foods. A Regional Specialties chapter reveals both pan-regional dishes and the noted local dishes. Chapter 6's Eating Out discussion shows the new acceptance of the individualist, recreational ritual of eating away from the community. The typical life-cycle food rituals are covered in the Special Occasions chapter. A final chapter on Diet and Health highlights the increase in Western diseases arising from diet and lifestyle changes and discusses timely food security issues as well. Recipes are interspersed throughout, and a timeline, glossary, selected bibliography, and photos round out the coverage.
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia by
This comprehensive reference work introduces food culture from more than 150 countries and cultures around the world--including some from remote and unexpected peoples and places. From babka to baklava to the groundnut stew of Ghana, food culture can tell us where we've been--and maybe even where we're going. Filled with succinct, yet highly informative entries, the four-volume Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia covers all of the planet's nation-states, as well as various tribes and marginalized peoples. Thus, in addition to coverage on countries as disparate as France, Ethiopia, and Tibet, there are also entries on Roma Gypsies, the Maori of New Zealand, and the Saami of northern Europe. There is even a section on food in outer space, detailing how and what astronauts eat and how they prepare for space travel as far as diet and nutrition are concerned. Each entry offers information about foodstuffs, meals, cooking methods, recipes, eating out, holidays and celebrations, and health and diet. Vignettes help readers better understand other cultures, while the inclusion of selected recipes lets them recreate dishes from other lands.
Re-Orienting Cuisine: East Asian Foodways in the Twenty-First century by
Foods are changed not only by those who produce and supply them, but also by those who consume them. Analyzing food without considering changes over time and across space is less meaningful than analyzing it in a global context where tastes, lifestyles, and imaginations cross boundaries and blend with each other, challenging the idea of authenticity. A dish that originated in Beijing and is recreated in New York is not necessarily the same, because although authenticity is often claimed, the form, ingredients, or taste may have changed. The contributors of this volume have expanded the discussion of food to include its social and cultural meanings and functions, thereby using it as a way to explain a culture and its changes.
The History and Culture of Japanese Food by
First published in 2001. The history of Japan is usually divided into ages and periods corresponding to changes in government. The ancient age, marked by the central authority of the imperial court and its bureaucracy, gave way in the twelfth century to the medieval age of warrior governments. The early modern age began in the sixteenth century with reunification and the emergence of the Tokugawa shogunate, and the modern age dates from the Meiji Restoration of 1868. Rather than the periodization used by historians, this book adopts an original system conceived by the author as a practical framework for investigating the dietary history of the Japanese.
The Global Road Warrior covers 175 countries. Key facts people, economy, work week, holidays, money, foreign exchange, visas, climate, passports, immunization, entry and departure, emergencies, internal travel information, country map
CultureGrams™ is a primary source reference for concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on the countries of the world. CultureGrams provides an insider's perspective on daily life and culture, including the history, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.
EBSCO provides access to your librarys e-book collection.eContentis the digital version of books you can access 24 hours a days, seven days a week.
Finding Books and eBooksTo search for books and eBooks in OneSearch:
"Using Gale eBooks" (1:07) is by SierraCollegeLibrary
"CultureGrams in 2 Minutes" (1:49) by timproquest.
"Salem Press -- Search Walk-Through" (2:52) by Lincoln Land Community College Library is licensed under CC BY 3.0
EBSCO's new user interface went into effect on September 1, 2024, so it will take some time to develop brand-new tutorial videos. In the meantime, the team at EBSCO has several webpages with how-to information for EBSCO eBooks.