LibGuides: Resources for Online Students: Textbooks and E-Books at Merced College

Policies

If you need chapters from a textbook or a print book, please come to the library and we can check it out to you. These books usually check out for 2 hours and must be used in the library.

Please use the link below or see the "Ways to contact the library" page on this LibGuide.

http://www.mccd.edu/resources/library

OneSearch

OneSearch
Search for the library's print books, eBooks, online and hardcopy journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.

Remember to use the appropriate drop down to get the materials you are looking for

Everything means all materials in the library including Open Access
Library means the physical collection only
Articles will only search the databases (most are represented here, but not all)
Course Reserves means this will search by instructor's last name or course name/number (ex ENGL 01A)

eBook Databases

EBSCO eBook Collection
EBSCO provides access to your librarys e-book collection.eContentis the digital version of books you can access 24 hours a days, seven days a week.
Gale Ebooks (GALE)
Specialized academic and encyclopedic material: find academic articles and definitions. Excellent beginning resource. Find the Career Information Center here!
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature (Oxford Univ Press)
Covers American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. TheEncyclopediaincludes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece & Rome (Oxford Univ Press)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Romeoffers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean worldGreek, Hellenistic, and Romanfrom the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas (Oxford Univ Press)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United Statesdraws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
OED: Oxford English Dictionary (Oxford Univ Press) This link opens in a new window
TheOxford English Dictionary(OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words past and presentfrom across the English-speaking world.
Salem Press (Grey House)
Salem E-books are electronic versions of print reference books held in the Merced College Library.