LibGuides: Resources for Online Students: Database Exploration

Search Activity

Using the search terms the class came up with, try a search is one of the databases below. Make sure to limit your results to full text!

Which database did you try?
What search did you use?
How many results did you get?
Was the search successful (i.e., were you able to find relevant results)? Why or why not?
It's okay if you have to try a new search. By the end of class, identify a source you think would be helpful for your research. Share the title of the book or article. Why does it seem helpful?

OneSearch

OneSearch
Search for the library's print books, eBooks, online and hardcopy journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.

Academic OneFile

Academic One File (Gale)
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.

PsycINFO

APA PsycINFO (EBSCO)
The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health developed by the American Psychological Association.Contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries as well as open access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)
Covers topics related to emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Provides full text access to nearly 400 journals.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including peer-reviewed full text for nearly 3,900 journals.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)
Provides extensive coverage of topics related to world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.

Finding All the Databases

To find all of the library's databases:

Log into the Portal.
Click the Library tab at the top.
Click on Find Databases, which will take you to the library's Databases A-Z list. You can search for a specific database by name or use the filters to limit the databases by subject area.

To select an appropriate database from the list:

1. Think about your topic.

2. Which of the subjects represented in the Subjects drop-down list does your topic most closely fall under? Health? History? Science? There may be more than one relevant category, and that's okay. Just start with one subject area.

3. After you select a subject area, you will find a list of databases that are good for topics related to the selected subject. But each is different. Read the database descriptions to determine if the database contains the kind of information you are interested in.