Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RN: Nursing.: Nursing Paper Chase

Paper Chase for Nursing Students

EbscoHost CINAHL

Your Assignment - Use the Link above to complete the exercise.

THE PAPER CHASE

FOR

NURSING STUDENTS

 

This exercise is designed to acquaint you with the major library resources needed for course work and especially for required research papers.  Successful completion of the exercise should provide you with a rudimentary knowledge of basic search strategy which can be transferred to all libraries available to you in the future.

The primary resources in any library are the people that staff it.  Please feel free to make frequent use of this most important and basic resource as often as necessary in the course of conducting your research.

We hope that you find this search interesting as well as informative.

 

Instructor assigned TOPIC                                                                    

I.          Login to the Portal. Select the LIBRARY tab at the top. Go to “Find Databases,” and choose CINAHL Complete.

            a.         Select CINAHL Headings and enter your topic.

            What other terms are associated with your search topic?  For example, “pneumonia” includes             “bronchopneumonia” and “community-acquired pneumonia”

            Scope Note:                                                                                                                                         

                                                                                                                                                                       

            Is there a Scope Note?  If so, what does it state?

                                                                                                                                                                       

II.         WEBCAT CATALOG

Using the WebCat catalog, attempt to locate one or more book titles relevant to your subject selection and designed for healthcare professionals.  From the record having the title which sounds most useful to you, secure the following information:

TITLE                                                                                                                                                

AUTHOR                                                                                                                                           

CALL No.                                                          LOCATION                                                                

PLACE, PUBLISHER, DATE OF PUBLICATION                                                                                   

SUBJECT HEADINGS IN THE CATALOG WHICH CAN LINK TO OTHER MATERIALS ON THE SAME

 TOPIC                                                                                                                                              

II.         PERIODICAL INDEXES

EBSCOHOST - MAGAZINES AND JOURNALS. EBSCOHOST is a database service providing multiple periodical indexes available by subscription on the Internet.  You choose the database based upon the subject you are researching.  Using the indicated index, locate articles relevant to your topic.  You may have to use one or more of the keywords or “see also” terms.  The following databases are the most relevant for nursing students:

            Academic Search Premier.

TITLE OF ARTICLE                                                                                                                           

AUTHOR OF ARTICLE                                     VOLUME NUMBER                                                    

NAME OF MAGAZINE CONTAINING ARTICLE                                                                                   

DATE OF MAGAZINE                                        PAGE(S) OF ARTICLE                                               

Select the article to view the bibliography.  What keywords are listed that are relevant to your topic?

___________________________________________________________________________________

 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition.

TITLE OF ARTICLE                                                                                                                           

AUTHOR OF ARTICLE                                      VOLUME NUMBER                                                    

NAME OF MAGAZINE CONTAINING ARTICLE                                                                                   

DATE OF MAGAZINE                                        PAGE(S) OF ARTICLE                                               

Select the article to view the bibliography.  What keywords are listed that are relevant to your topic?

___________________________________________________________________________________

 

CINAHLPlus.

TITLE OF ARTICLE                                                                                                                           

AUTHOR OF ARTICLE                                      VOLUME NUMBER                                                    

NAME OF MAGAZINE CONTAINING ARTICLE                                                                                   

DATE OF MAGAZINE                                        PAGE(S) OF ARTICLE                                               

Select the article to view the bibliography.  What keywords are listed that are relevant to your topic?

___________________________________________________________________________________

Medline.

TITLE OF ARTICLE                                                                                                                           

AUTHOR OF ARTICLE                                      VOLUME NUMBER                                                    

NAME OF MAGAZINE CONTAINING ARTICLE                                                                                   

DATE OF MAGAZINE                                        PAGE(S) OF ARTICLE                                               

Select the article to view the bibliography.  What keywords are listed that are relevant to your topic?

___________________________________________________________________________________

 

III.        REFERENCE BOOKS

Attempt to locate any information relating to your topic in the following reference books. For each book, briefly describe the type of information found, if any. (Definition, signs & symptoms, treatment, etc.)

­R  616.075 Cur  Current medical diagnosis & treatment                                                                                                                                                       

                                                                                                                                                         

R 610.321 Mosby’s Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions 7th ed

                                                                                                                                                         

                                                                                                                                                         

IV.        INTERLIBRARY LOAN

List the procedure for obtaining an article that our library doesn't have.

V.         INTERNET SEARCH

For each of the links below, search for your topic including relevant keywords.  Type in the website address and press or click enter.  Type in your topic and keyword choices and press or click enter.  List the search words you used and list three relevant references sites you found including the title of the article/page.

GOOGLE Internet Search:  http://scholar.google.com

Search Words: ______________________________________________________________________

1.                                                                                                                                                      

2.                                                                                                                                                      

3.                                                                                                                                                      

 

Nursing Center web page: http://www.nursingcenter.com/articles-publications  Has abstracts

 

How many articles are listed on this topic?                                                                                           

Search Words: ______________________________________________________________________

If necessary, narrow your topic by making it more specific.

 

 

Find a nursing journal as well as a website on your chosen topic. Compare the information found in both. What do you notice to be the difference between the two forms of literature?

 

How does this relate to the education of patients?

 

How does this relate to the education of health care providers?